Asian and Pacific Centre for Transfer of Technology


APCTT is a United Nations Regional Institution under the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). The Centre was established in 1977 in Bangalore, India. In 1993, the Centre moved to New Delhi, India. APCTT promotes transfer of technology to and from small- and medium-scale enterprises (SMEs) in Asia and the Pacific.

APCTT implements development projects funded by international donors aimed at strengthening the environment for technology transfer among SMEs in Asia and the Pacific; in this respect the Centre makes special efforts to encourage more participation of women in the field of technology.

APCTT undertakes consultancy assignments in various technology transfer related areas (institution building, human resources development, studies, business partnership development).The objective of APCTT is to strengthen the technology transfer capabilities in the region and to facilitate import/export of environmentally sound technologies to/from the member countries.

All member states and associate members of ESCAP are de facto members of APCTT.


APCTT is governed by a Governing Council consisting of a representative designated by the Government of India which extends host facility to the Centre, and no fewer than eight representatives nominated by other members and associate members of ESCAP elected by the Commission for a period of three years. The Governing Council meets at least once a year, advises on the formulation and implementation of the programme of work and reviews the administration and financial status of the Centre.

The Executive Secretary of ESCAP submits an annual report, as adopted by the Governing Council, to ESCAP at its annual sessions. APCTT also reports its activities to the Committee on Information and Communications Technology & Science, Technology and Innovation, one of the nine committees that make up the subsidiary structure of ESCAP. The Advisory Committee of Permanent Representatives and Other Representatives Designated by Members of ESCAP periodically review the work of APCTT. The present Governing Council elected for the tenure of three years (2017 -2020) and comprises of the following 13 member States:

Bangladesh Islamic Republic of Iran The Philippines
China Kazakhstan Republic of Korea
Fiji Malaysia Sri Lanka
India Pakistan Thailand

Consult the full list of Governing Council Members and focal points

Documents from the Fifteenth session of the Governing Council

Annotated provisional agenda [中文] [English] [Français] [русский]
Report of the Governing Council on its fifteenth session [English]

Election of the Governing Council of the Asian and Pacific Centre for Transfer of Technology (APCTT)

The three-year term of the members of the Governing Council of the Asian and Pacific Centre for Transfer of Technology (APCTT) will end at the seventy-sixth session of the ESCAP Commission.

The Commission will therefore elect new members to serve on the Governing Council the regional institution during the session and the results will be announced under agenda item 10 Other matters.

All details regarding the election of the APCTT Governing Council including the nomination form can be found on the ESCAP 76th Commission website.


18th - 22nd of May 2020 : 76th ESCAP Commission Session

Download the list of events that were held in 2018 and 2019

| Email | Facebook | Twitter |